Wines of Lanzarote

Wines of Lanzarote. Denomination of Origin.

Lanzarote is the northernmost island of the Canary Islands. It has an area of 862 square kilometers and its maximum height is 671 meters above sea level. The climate is mild, with an average monthly temperature of 18 ° C in winter and 23 ° C in summer. All this marks the peculiarity of its agriculture and, especially, of its wines. The Island has about 2,000 hectares of vineyards in production, distributed in more than 7,500 plots that extend throughout its seven municipalities.

The climate of the island causes an early harvest, the first of all Europe. The month of July marks the beginning of the artisan and ceremonious collection of the precious grapes, highlighting a characteristic and unique variety in the world: the Volcanic Malvasia, of great quality for its balance, flavor and perfume. Other important varieties are Listán Blanca, Listán Negra, Moscatel de Alejandría, Diego and Negra Mulata.

Most of the harvest goes to the production of white wines, whether dry, semi-sweet, semi-sweet, sweet, liqueur, breeding and sparkling wines, although there are also excellent rosés and reds. The numerous national and international awards they get year after year are the best proof of their great quality.




In spite of the endemic scarcity of rainfall and the vicinity of the hot Africa, Lanzarote has conditions for viticulture, a miracle due in part to the work of the winegrowers and the beneficial action of the Alisios winds that carry moisture Of the Atlantic over the island's tormented geography. Lanzarote's viticulture is a clear example of the effort of the man to adapt to the means.

The designation of origin Wines of Lanzarote was created in 1993. The Regulatory Council is the organ in charge of its representation, defense, guarantee, research and development of markets and production. The Back label provided by the Regulatory Board is an unequivocal guarantee of quality, but also a certification of a unique nature in the world.

The island has almost 2000 hectares of vineyard area in production, spread over more than 7500 plots that extend through its seven municipalities. It has 17 producing wineries.


Types of cultivation:


The viticulture of Lanzarote is conditioned by the species characteristic of its soil, which has led to the adoption of two forms of cultivation: the system of holes and trenches. Both systems are of great originality and beauty. The vine grower of Lanzarote excavates holes in the layer of picón to be able to accede to the vegetal earth, planting of 1 to 3 vines. The hole is accompanied by a stone structure or wall (between 60 or 70 cm height) that acts like a “wind cutter” that protects the plant.

In the case of the system of trenches (long walls), either edge or trench in the whole plot. The layer of lapilli in this area is much less, especially in Haría, where in some areas is very low.

Due to its constant and tenacious work, the viticultural connoisseur (Lanzaroteño) has been able to integrate fully into the natural landscape, respecting the hard and chaotic nature in fascinating scenarios capable of producing unforeseeable sustenance.

Wine-growing areas:


La Geria: Area of vineyards located between the towns of Yaiza and Tias. In La Geria is used the system of holes, due to the thickness of the layer of lapilli or rofe, also called "picón", which in some areas reaches even 3 meters deep. This is why planting density is lower than in the rest of the island.

Masdache: This area is located between the towns of Tias and San Bartolome. The cultivation system is mainly the one of holes, although the layer of "picón" is no as thick as in La Geria.

Tinajo: This vineyard area where the farming system is that of perimeter ditches.

Ye-Lajares: Zone located in the municipality of Haría and by the characteristics of the soil is of low production. 



Wineries of Lanzarote

1. Bodegas El Grifo (San Bartolomé).

2. Bodegas Guiguan (Tinajo).

3. Bodegas Martinón (Tías).

4. Bodegas Stratvs (Yaiza).

5. Bodegas La Geria (Yaiza).

6. Bodegas La Grieta (Haría).

7. Bodegas Los Bermejos (San Bartolomé). 

8. Bodegas La Florida (San Bartolomé).

9. Bodegas Rubicón (Yaiza).

10. Bodegas Vega de Yuco (Tías). 

11. Bodegas Tierra de Volcanes (Yaiza).

12. Bodegas Vulcano de Lanzarote (Tías).

13. Bodegas Los Perdomos (Tinajo).